Our Boards

Yawuru Native Title Holders Aboriginal Corporation (PBC)

After the Court determination of our native title rights we formed the Yawuru Registered Native Title Holders Body Corporate (RNTBC), often referred to as the Yawuru PBC.

The PBC’s job is to hold and manage native title for the Yawuru people.

ORIC Register: Key documents for the Yawuru PBC

PBC Directors

Francis Djiagween (Lulga) –  Chairperson

Thomas Edgar (Unda)  – Director

Debra Pigram – Director

Neil McKenzie – Director

Helen Lawrence – Director

Dean Mathews – Director

Stephen (Bart) Pigram – Director

Johani Mamid – Director

Phillip Matsumoto  – Director


Murra Mala Yawuru Ltd

Maxine Charlie – Chairperson

Darren Puertollano – Director

Dianne Appleby – Director

Leah Dolby – Director


Nyamba Buru Yawuru Ltd

The Yawuru native title holders set up Nyamba Buru Yawuru Ltd (NBY), to hold land, develop income and deliver social programs for the benefit of the community.

NBY Directors

Debra Pigram – Chairperson

Cara Peek – Deputy Chair

Sherena bin Hitam – Director

Jill Rudeforth – Director

David Puertollano – Director

Roseanne Healy – Director (Independent)

John Hoon – Director  (Independent)

Yawuru Corporate Group Governance Development Program

Yawuru are investing in a governance development program to build the capacity of both the Yawuru PBC and NBY Boards.

In this way Yawuru native title holders benefit from the highest standards of decision making.  A training manual and video are being developed.  Once approved by both boards, it is proposed that the training package could be the basis of a template applicable to other native title entities in northern Australia.